“Anyone pulled from a source longs to go back.” No pen/paper available and having vowed off texting while driving, these words have lingered in my mind, though I cannot remember who said it. The surprise is that these words kept returning me to places that I had been “pulled away” from a source and have sought to go back:

A childhood home, friend or memory – seeking to touch a part of my past…

Birthing my children, experiencing the loss of them in my womb – letting go…

Tears over the phone with one I love – longing of  “I want to see you now…”

And yes even creation in Genesis – man and woman separated….

There is a point in creation where God firmly, but gently extracts from deep within one to reveal two. “…this is now bone of my bone and flesh of my flesh, she shall be called woman.”  At that moment the man sees with new eyes who he is, because of who the woman is, now before him.

Being released and called out of...

While many see this as a moment of unity, joining the two, I just wonder if there isn’t something more here? Did they feel the loss of the places of being held/holding?

After all the woman was within the man-now she is separated from and outside…

The man sheltered and held the woman-now he is separated and feeling a void…

To be pulled from a source of home, that first place of being, creates a longing to return. Every kid that has ever gone away to camp has experienced this in some way…a heart tugging to return home, to that which is known and anchors us.

The risk God took is that we would see our Creator as the source of our home, not one another.

Can I see my Creator in me? Do I see the source of my home?

Do I taste of home being within my Creator or that which was created?

I want to be home sick…

