I remember as a child often hearing these words, “Becky, be careful you are too close to the edge.” Now I don’t know how often those words were delivered out loud, but it often replays in my mind when I am getting ready to

make a decision…

let go of what is safe…

answer a question…

Okay here lies the real reason for this post – I love questions. I love hearing them, discussing them, letting them roll around in my head, watching them shake loose and offer people challenge, freedom, hope…

I love asking them, gathering thoughts, scriptures and letting it all be stirred together. Some how the thought of offering an “answer” seems daunting and a bit overwhelming because someone has trusted you enough to ask. And for this moment you hold their exposed thought, they are inviting you to their edge of something

change?

fear?

freedom?

While I don’t fully understand the rush of compassion that swooshes in and calls me to this sacred space of holding another’s question, I know the risky experience of asking questions and the potential of being

disappointed…

not heard…

and worst of all being misunderstood…

These all matter....

These questions are from my last conference in the fall. I carry them everywhere with me, in fact they are in my computer case as a daily reminder that I have not answered….yet…

At dinner the other night a friend, who knows I am carrying them, challenged me with a question…

“Becky, I want the words of what you do have inside so that I can wrestle with them.”

So I realize that in a way I have been holding something back, not allowing myself to step near the edge of writing out answers that could be

misunderstood…

judged…

or

misquoted…

Yes I found my own edge – fear.

Questions are the sacred place that we meet, it is not meant to be the place of separation and holding back, but instead together we are meant to “stand too close to the edge” so that together we can see more.

Looking at these questions is sacred, wrestling with them can be dangerous. So if anyone is out there and really wants to know, I am going to tackle  two questions a week(from the last conference) by literally drawing them out of the pile, letting the questions be the guide.

Join me if you want because I believe all voices matter.

Me…I will be on the edge, sitting next to my fear…looking out and waiting….

Sitting on the edge...

