I spoke with a group of teens this past weekend. And even now, always a week after the fact, I am still incredibly impressed by how these teenagers showed up, engaged and even asked questions about Effective Communication Between Parents and Teens.

Now I realize it could have been the parents who did some “strong encouraging” to have these teens show up bright and early on Saturday morning. But hey, regardless, they did, and it was breathtaking to see. This beautiful community at Heritage United Methodist Church in New Prague risked bringing parents and teens together to actually practice communicating.

In the room with just teens, I listened carefully to the familiar questions that are a part of many teens daily repertoire:

  • “Do I measure up?”
  • “Do I really matter?”

As I looked into their sleepy Saturday morning eyes, Thomas Merton’s words kept returning to me:

 “We do not exist for ourselves alone, and it is only when we are fully convinced of this fact that we begin to love ourselves properly and thus also love others….first of all, desiring to live, accepting life as a very great gift and a great good, not because of what it give us, but because of what it enables us to give to others.” (Emphasis my own.)

Teenagers you are worth loving!

Teenagers you matter!

Teenagers the world needs you to love yourselves!

My prayer today is that we as parents might have language to remind our teens that they matter…really they do.

And to the teenagers of United Methodist Church thank you. You are truly extraordinary.

~becky

PS Interested in bringing a class like this to your church and/or community? Feel free to contact me, I’d love to chat more.

