christmas music

I love Christmas music. Why? Because the words transport me to my childhood, to memories of Christmas Eve services, to historical moments in the composer’s lives.

Christmas carols have a way of connecting me to others in the mall, at a coffee shop, and even to others around the world.

There is a sense of commonality that carols have of helping me feel joined  to others all around me.

Earlier this week, I purposely chose a day of silence – no Christmas music!

Silence has been a spiritual practice for me over the years, a place of setting aside noise in order to hear God. Silence has taught me many things, but almost always I sense, hear or receive something new…

Making Space

Being silent means waiting, waiting

for the Other

to say something to us.

Being silent before God

means making room for God,

to breathe in the will of God,

to listen attentively. . . .

The time of silence

is a time of responsibility,

and of blessedness,

a time when we live in the peace of God.

‘For God alone my soul in silence waits.’”

Dietrich Bonhoeffer, Meditating on the Word 

 

So silence interrupted me in a new way. Do you want to know what I heard? Well, I’ll tell you.

Absolutely nothing.

 

Yep, that’s right. Absolutely, noth-ing.

 

I was not enlightened by a thunderbolt or a gentle whisper for that matter. I received no answer to the many questions stirring inside me. But the next morning, I woke with anticipation, an eagerness to return to that mystical place the music takes me. Maybe silence is about remembering to re-enter peace so we can appreciate what it is we often take for granted in hearing…

“Peace on earth” can be more than mere words of a carol, “Peace on earth” can be a rhythm that we learn to carry into the noise of this world.

 

~ becky

