intense love

You know that moment, when you’re standing across from someone and the only thing in the entire world that you want to do is deck them one right across the face? When it’s way past the time of being nice. When it’s time to get real and give that person just exactly what their behavior REALLY deserves??

Yes. It’s hard to admit, but sometimes (sometimes) I go here and it’s just about as ugly as it sounds.

In that all-I-want-to-do-is-deck-you moment, my focus is not on the other person at all, but rather it’s only on…

front and center

table for one

center stage

me, myself and

ME.

Life could be so much easier if relationships did not have the twisted impact of two very different individuals seeking to find common ground and see one another without judgement or competition.

These two words – judgement and competition.

 

More than I’m even able to admit, these two words rob me from truly seeing another person and loving them well.

Derek Tasker in his book An Exploration into God writes:

“I wonder what would happen if

I treated everyone like I was in love

with them, whether I like them or not

and whether they respond or not and no matter

what they say or do to me and even if I see

things in them which are ugly twisted petty

cruel vain deceitful indifferent, just accept

all that and turn my attention to some small

weak tender hidden part and keep my eyes on

that until it shines like a beam of light

like a bonfire I can warm my hands by and trust

it to burn away all the waste which is not

never was my business to meddle with.”

This kind of love looks dangerous and takes my breath away. Who could love like this anyway? And who would ever risk loving this way?

 

Love like that would require risking everything about who I am…

And this would not be fair would it?

No, no no. It would not be fair at all. And that kind of love it not cheap, not cheap at all because it would cost me everything.

Oh God, give me the desire to desire what you desire…

~ becky

 

Photo credit.

