They predicted it.

It came.

Snarling traffic, cancelling schools, changing flights it is – a foot of snow!
 

Minnesota winter living

I have shoveled my driveway three times in the last 12 hours – yes I did say shoveled. How does one can live in Minnesota and not own an operating snow blower? That’s a good question.

When I went out the shovel the driveway for the third time, I couldn’t help but steal a wistful long look at our helpless dead snow blower. My mind began reminiscently wandering to all the years our snow blower had been there for me. All the occasions where it had faithfully trudged through piles upon piles of snow, throwing the accumulating inches into massive heaps that created a driveway snow bunker.

But now, after some 20+ years, the little trusty snow blower can no longer be something I depend on. No, I must let it go and recognize what is before me as my only option– a blue shovel and my very own strength.
 

 Blue shovel kind of snow day

So I took a “snow day” breaking away from my usual routine of “just-getting-it-done” timetable for snow removal and I decided to let the snow and my resources tutor me:

I felt:

  • snow falling down my unprotected neck…
  • cold wind scratching my cheeks…
  • the weight of snow being lifted chest high…

I saw:

  • footprints of animals – nothing wilder than bunnies and deer…
  • dimpled landscapes of trees releasing snow laden branches…
  • unmarred landscapes of white…
  • children jumping into piles of snow…

I heard:

  • the scrape of my shovel against asphalt…
  • birds singing…
  • airplanes overhead…
  • the soft ping of snowflakes hitting my jacket…
  • a snow blower’s roar to life down the street…

 

Caught up in the present moment, enjoying my “snow day” with a blue shovel, I was a bit caught off guard when out of the corner of my eye, a neighbor’s massive snow blower came barreling towards me.  I thought of my own snow blower that will be sent to the graveyards this year and realized how many times it had done the very same thing over the years.

Of course I didn’t refuse my neighbor and his snow blowers assistance, but I also realized that both of us were experiencing very different “snow days.”

Happy snow day– hope you are enjoying every moment!

~ becky.

